Main Image
Media Releases
Find all of our Media Releases from across the UK, Australia and North America.
House of Arras named Australia’s champion wine

For the first time a sparkling wine has been named Australia’s Champion Wine at the National Wine Show of Australia. The 2006 House of Arras Blanc de Blancs has been awarded the Len Evans Memorial Trophy for Champion Wine of Show.

The history-making Tasmanian sparkling wine was also awarded the Kit Stevens Memorial Trophy for Sparkling White or Pink at tonight’s ceremony held at QT Canberra.

The win tops off an incredible year for the House of Arras, Australia’s pre-eminent sparkling wine producer, with the Tasmanian brand celebrating its 20th anniversary in 2015. In October, House of Arras released Australia’s most expensive sparkling wine, the 1998 House of Arras 20th Anniversary Late Disgorged (RRP $350) to mark the two decade milestone.

House of Arras Chief Sparkling Winemaker Ed Carr is thrilled with the continued success and recognition of the House of Arras sparkling wines.

“It is an absolute honour that House of Arras has been recognised as the best of the best at the most prestigious wine show in Australia. There are so many fantastic Australian wines from quality producers, so it is very humbling to be recognised on a night such as this,” Ed said.

“This year has already been a remarkable one for us as we celebrate our 20th anniversary. I’m looking forward to enjoying a few glasses of Arras over the festive season and reflecting on what has been a memorable year.”

It has been a remarkable evening for House of Arras, as Ed Carr has just been awarded Winemaker of the Year at the Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology’s Awards for Excellence, in Adelaide tonight. Ed is the first sparkling winemaker to receive this award.

The Len Evans Memorial Trophy is one of the most prestigious additions to the House of Arras trophy cabinet to date, with previous winners of the award including Yabby Lake, Xanadu, Jim Barry, De Bortoli, Vasse Felix and Penfolds.

This year’s awards were the most successful yet for Accolade Wines, with additional trophy winners from the Accolade Wines portfolio including:

2015 Houghton Classic Sauvignon Blanc Semillon – The Value White Wine Trophy
2006 House of Arras Blanc de Blancs – The Kit Stevens Memorial Trophy for Sparkling White or Pink
2014 Eddystone Point Riesling – The Riesling Trophy
2014 Bay of Fires Pinot Noir – The Pinot Noir Trophy

The 2006 House of Arras Blanc de Blancs will be available in all good liquor retailers from mid 2016, and the 2005 House of Arras Blanc de Blancs is currently on shelves (RRP $80).

The Dan Murphy’s National Wine Show is Australia’s premier national wine show. The Show only invites award-winning entries from across Australia’s regional and capital city wine shows, with the purpose to judge and recognise the best of the best Australian wines.

For more information about the Dan Murphy’s National Wine Show, please visit

For images, interview opportunities, or samples, please contact:
Jennifer Bailey | e: [email protected] | 02 9667 4211 | 0400 115 401
Peta Barclay | e: [email protected] | 02 8336 8252 | 0466 207 467

For more information and picture requests please contact:
Peta Barclay
Peta Barclay
AUS Brand Communications Manager